SQL Server x Data Protection Manager 2012 – The VSS application writer or the VSS provider is in a bad state. (ID 30111) – Situation 2

I was testing one of my powershell routines to restore SQL Server databases from System Center Data Protection Manager 2012 and I faced this error message:

The VSS application writer or the VSS provider is in a bad state. Either it was already in a bad state or it entered a bad state during the current operation. (ID 30111 Details: VssError:The writer experienced a non-transient error. If the backup process is retried,
the error is likely to reoccur.
(0x800423F4))

The routine I mentioned restore all databases from a certain instance, but the problem was occurring with only a specific database.

I soon imagined that it was the same situation I mentioned in a previous post, even thought the feeling that I had not missed anything when I did the procedure to correct that problem.

After some analysis I confirmed that it was not the same problem as before and started to look for any other information that would help me.

Then I started to analyse the Application Event Log from the machine where the restores are executed, where maybe I would be able to find something related to VSS Writer. There I found the following error message, at the same time the restore failed, with “SQLVDI” being the source:

SQLVDI: Loc=SignalAbort. Desc=Client initiates abort. ErrorCode=(0). Process=7700. Thread=8556. Client. Instance=INSTANCE_NAME. VD=Global\{E2192CB7-D6DA-4083-8CC6-99EE905A9298}_SQLVDIMemoryName_0.

At this point I started to wander that this was something much more complicated, something specific to SQLVDI. To make things worse the ErrorCode on the error message (0) does not help too much and I had no starting point to the analysis (but it gave me the idea to make a blog post about SQLVDI, which may be done soon!)

After some analysis of the situation and not being able to find anything that would help me I started to look for some detail that I had not noticed during the first steps. So at this moment I noticed that the problem was… lack of disk space! The very first and simplest that I should have observed at the beginning.

Anyway, there could be a better error handling, with a more comprehensive error message!

Well, I hope this may be helpful to someone in the same situation!

Esse post foi publicado em Artigos, System Center. Bookmark o link permanente.

Deixe uma resposta

