the feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable… [English Version]

During the process of migrating a few SQL Server instances from 2005 to 2008 R2/2012,  I had this test instance that I had to migrate from SQL Server 2005 to 2008 R2 and since it was a test instance I decided to make an in-place upgrade

During the process I have faced a pop-up window with the following message “the feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable”, and its title bar indicated that it had something to do with SQL Server native client.

I did not understand what was the problem, since it was indicating a folder that did not exist, but anyway the path it indicated gave me a clue, since its name was full of letters and numbers, typical of the folders created when you are applying a patch (service pack, cumulative update) to SQL Server.

Since I already had a SQL Server 2008 R2 on this machine and it had already been patched with SP and CU, I started to think that for some reason the installation was looking for files from one of these patches that were applied to the other instance. So I had to find out a way to get these files so I could use them. To get the files I started the installer of SP1 for SQL Server 2008 R2, once it extracted the files to a folder it showed me an error message, since the upgrade wizard was already being executed,  and then I did NOT click on the OK button, since by doing this it would delete the temporary folder with the files I needed.

Now I could go back to the error message from the upgrade wizard, made it point to the folder with the SP1 files and now the upgrade progress was able to finish.

At this point I was not able to understand the cause of the problem, but I hope this post may help anyone with the same or similar situation, since I could not find anything on the web that would lead to a solution.

obs 1: the interesting on this is that since now its is pointing to the service pack folder, the instance was already migrated to SQL Server 2008 R2 and also had SP1 applied.

obs 2: maybe doing a slipstream installation would solve this, but I have not tried this.

Esse post foi publicado em Artigos. Bookmark o link permanente.

Deixe uma resposta

